“The best vision is insight”

The best vision is insight.

Malcolm Forbes

Again, it is Thursday night and I am just sitting on my bed and thinking. I guess this is my time and place for thinking because it is the only place where I have inspiration and enough willingness to motivate myself to write something and then to post it online.

Anyway, I have been learning about Buddhism, meditation, and spirituality in my history class. We talked about Hinduism, Confucianism, and Daoism. They are similar in that they all suggest we live in harmony, try to reach state of tranquility by being mindful, living properly, contemplating, meditation, and just being a good person. This quote seems to fit these philosophies.

If you think about it, we can learn so much from just taking 15-20 min per day to sit and listen to our thoughts. To observe, think, and relax. Nowadays, we are always in a hurry. Business meetings, jobs, dates, school, practice, etc. We are always on our phones that keep vibrating and we keep checking them, almost obsessively. We are always doing something and we don’t reflect on ourselves.

What this quote suggests is that we need to take a break. Think. Relax. Breathe. We can learn something from this. If there is something we want to change about ourselves, if there is something bothering or scaring us and our mind is the problem, then the best thing to do (in my humble opinion) is to think. Contemplate, but by yourself. Do it alone, no phone, no distractions. Just you and your mind.

I think high school seniors and college students should do this often. As a freshman in college, I can say this period of our life is the most stressful it has ever been (not to say it won’t get any more stressful, sadly, it surely will). This is the time when we are obliged to make big decisions. Where to go to college? What should I study? Where will I work? What are my goals? These are all very important decisions each of us must make. I can fully relate to this, not only as a college student, but also as an international student who decided to come all the way from small country in central Europe to Alabama. Scary, huh? And I admit, it is scary. I have to be an adult and I rely only on myself. I am responsible for myself, no one else, and to be able to take care of myself, I need to know what I want and how I feel about certain things. To achieve this, I tried meditating. I am in the process of doing it right now, writing. Well, free-writing. It also helps me refocus and think about some important things. I also draw. I am not good at it, but it helps when I am overwhelmed with everything I have to do or when I just think where I am and what a big decision I did by coming here.

Therefore, being mindful about ourselves, trying to understand yourself, your wishes, feelings, and goals is very important in our lives. It is the best way to march confidently  towards our goals. Only then can we strive to achieve them and be the best version of ourselves.

Author: travel318

Day-dreamer I am a girl with many ideas and I am trying to put them on paper.

3 thoughts on ““The best vision is insight””

  1. Great stuff Marija, thanks for sharing! 🙂

    It’s amazing how taking time out to ourselves, even for just 15 mins, to be more mindful, can shape how we feel and react to things. Being more mindful and practising meditation has definitely helped me to be more proactive and less reactive.

    I love how you have ended this article. You are so right that focusing on being the best version of ourselves can helps us achieve what we want in life. It also makes us more pleasant people to be around.

    Loving the content, keep doing what you’re doing 🙂

    PS – On a related note, I’m on the hunt for feedback for my new show The HERO Podcast! It’s all about creating healthy habit. The episode with Derek Doepker may be of interest to you where he discusses how to make lasting changes. You can check it out (and maybe leave a short review if you like) here: http://apple.co/2kjNoGN

    Like

Leave a Reply

