The Shadowy Figure

I have been feeling weird lately. It’s been few days since I feel like this, not sure why. Ever since Friday I feel like something big will happen. Anyway, I need to focus now, I have a math exam and my mind is racing all over the place. I have always struggled with math and is my chance to improve my grade. I have 85% and I need to have at least 90% to get into good college. I have few colleges in mind but I have no idea what I want to study so that’s a problem. School ends in 2 months and I still have no idea what I want to study and where. Great.

Katarina, focus. You need to do well on this test. Don’t think about colleges now.

Ok, I really need to concentrate now. Let’s finish this exam so I can have a break from studying.

 

 

Finally, the week is over. I did all of my homework in advance so I have few days to just relax and do absolutely nothing. I love it. I also got 93% on my math exam. YES!! I totally deserve a break from school and studying.

 

….

 

“Hello, I’m home!”- no answer. Great, it is just me again. This has become usual in my family. I come home from school around 3pm and my parents aren’t here until midnight, sometimes even later. I don’t know what happened, it used to be different. I would come home and my dad would be here with lunch already served. It wouldn’t be so lonely in this huge house. Imagine, it is a 2-story house, 2 bathrooms, living room, 4 bedrooms, and a guest room. Imagine how empty it is most of the day.

I think I will cook pasta for lunch/dinner. I could make some sauce to go with it and a salad. That should be enough for me. My parents don’t eat at home anyway. At least they haven’t lately.

I will put the water on and play some music while I cook.

 

 

I am so bored. I already watched 3 episodes of some TV show and now I don’t know what to do. It is only 6pm. Sun is still out and it is a nice day. Maybe I should go for a walk around my neighborhood. I put some comfortable clothes on, took my earphones and left the house. My parent won’t even know I left somewhere. This is a bit sad, actually. Before, they were very concerned and always wanted to know where I was and where I will go, but lately they don’t. not that they don’t care, they are just not home and cannot know if I go somewhere. It is not really their fault. It just happens, I guess. They have some issues now at work and have to deal with them so I understand. Still, I kind of miss them being a bit annoying. I just miss having my parents at home.

There are not many people outside. Maybe some left for the weekend somewhere. It will be warm and sunny. Some kids are playing in the park, but less than usual. I just keep walking and will see where the road will take me. It is very nice outside, so warm and beautiful. I just keep walking and after a while I came to the edge of the woods. Few block from my house a forest starts. I used to spend a lot of time here with my dad when I was younger. We had so much fun exploring these woods.

I decided to go there again and just re-explore it. I never saw any animals here, except for squirrels and an occasional dog that ran away. Now, I don’t see anything. It is just me and trees. I wonder if people ever just come to the woods and stare at the trees. Or if they hug them? I do, sometimes. I know it is weird and that’s why I don’t say that to others, but yes, I sometimes hug trees. This sounds very weird, but I enjoy it. I think it is fun.

Suddenly the weather changed. It became cloudy and windy. I am a bit cold, actually. It became a bit depressing in the woods. It suddenly got dark. Maybe I should head home, it might end up raining and I don’t want to get wet.

As I turned to head home, I heard leaves rustling. Probably the wind.

Hello, little one.

What the fuck!? Is this seriously happening again? He completely slipped my mind ever since I saw him for the first time. This can’t be happening, no way.

I start running as fast as I can. I need to leave this place as soon as possible. I run and I run, trying to leave the shadowy figure behind me.

You can’t escape from me. I can find you anytime I want to…

Oh, shit. Did I just hear the figure laugh? I am not sure. I just know I need to run away and not look back.

Finally, I escaped from the woods and am back in the neighborhood again. There is no wind and the sunlight is still out. I keep running. I must look like the biggest idiot to anyone who saw me. I entered my house and only then I realized how tired I am. I lock the doors, turn on the lights and firmly hold my phone in my hand. I am sure that thing won’t come here. It cannot get in, for sure. At least I hope it can’t.

I turn on the water and decide to take a shower. I am so exhausted that I will go straight to bed.

I close all the windows, turn off the lights and close my bedroom door. My heart is still racing, but I fell asleep quickly.

Author: travel318

Day-dreamer I am a girl with many ideas and I am trying to put them on paper.

Leave a Reply

